If It’s Thursday……

It’s pizza night.

The first of the New Year.

I’ll keep it short and sweet.

Preheated the oven to 525 for over an hour. Normally would go half that, but my stone had prime rib residue from New Years Day and it was smoking like hell, even after I scrubbed. Pizza stones are porous and some juice had spilled on it. Took an hour to cook out the fat @ 525 and finally with the broiler on. Needless to say, she’s well seasoned now.

Used a frozen dough from Shaheen’s IGA, Hunt’s crushed tomatoes, shredded mozz  and some hand shredded Cabot extra sharp.

Here’s a pic before I slid her in to the oven.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

And here’s the after pic.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

One of the best looking pies I’ve ever made at home.

Taste wise it was good, not great, I need to work on my sauce skills. THe crust and cheese were perfect.

Oh, here’s some rolls I made for New Years Day, may as well slide ’em in here!

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

They were damn good!

Here’s to a great 2013!

2 comments
  1. dmcavanagh said:

    You used a frozen dough, why the hell are you using frozen dough? You can’t call yourself a pizza maker using frozen dough, I thought that after all the time you spend on SLICE and talking pizza with @dhorst and I that you were a real dough man, but now I’m starting to wonder.I may have to travel up to Tupper Lake and straighten you out! 🙂 Were the rolls made with frozen dough also? And I’m not even gonna say anything about the Hunt’s tomatoes because I know your options are limited, so next time you see me I”ll be lugging some tomatoes up to you. At least you’re using good cheese!

    • Ha! I use frozen dough because I’m a lazy ass during the week! Now the rolls, they were made from scratch my friend! And you know you’re welcome to come to Tupper any time to straighten me out!!!

Leave a Reply

