Liquids and Solids, Lake Placid, NY…

Remember Marlon Brando in the Godfather? When one of his soldiers asked him how he was going to get some guy to do what he (The Godfather) had ordered, he said, “We;ll give him an offer he can’t refuse.”

Well, I got an offer I couldn’t refuse yesterday.

In the morning Nancie said, “We’re going to Lake Placid after work.”  She wanted to hit the outlets, looking for sweaters, since we still have another 3 or 4 months of winter.

My immediate thought (which I didn’t verbalize) was, “Oh great, The Gap, Bass, Van Heusen, and tons of tourists in their Uggs.”

As soon as I thought that, she said, “And after you can pick a restaurant to go to, any one, for your birthday.”

It was an offer I couldn’t refuse.

So, then I had to decide. I tend to procrastinate when faced with mighty decisions, but this wasn’t so difficult. I briefly considered Steak and Seafood on Main St. It’s an old standby and serves a solid meal.

l and s menu header

But then I reconsidered, there’s been a lot of buzz about Liquids and Solids. This is a restaurant co-owned by Tupper Lake native Keegan Konkoski.

I went on line, looked at the menu, paused, and said, ” that’s it.”

Liquids and Solids.

http://liquidsandsolids.com/

Many of my co-workers have been there, and they all rave about it. So I had to see for myself. I’ll tell you this, it didn’t disappoint.

So, after Nancie’s sweater hunt (Oh yes, she scored some sweaters, but that’s another story) , we arrived just after 5 PM. It being a Friday I was worried that it would be packed, but there were a lot of good seats available.

The seats were high back stools, on a raised table, very comfy.  The lighting is toned down and the music funky, but you can carry on a conversation with no problem.

We received menus, which are on standard print paper on clipboards. At first glance kind of weird, but from a recycling point of view practical, and really, who remembers the thing you ordered off of?

They source a lot of their food locally, and that’s cool.

Our waitress was sharp, informative, and busy.  That said, she was attentive. She delivered water, and took our drink order.  Nancie ordered a 7 & 7. But, no Seagrams, and no 7, so she settled on a bourbon and ginger ale. No problem.

Me, I ordered a Mother’s Milk Stout. http://beeradvocate.com/beer/profile/6980/16385It was on tap, and made in Kingston, NY.  I’d have had another but the beer menu wouldn’t allow me too.

For my second beer I ordered a Trois Pistoles, a Belgian Strong Dark Ale. Once again, I was amazed at the flavors one liquid could hold. This is a beer you savor, and drink like a wine. http://beeradvocate.com/beer/profile/22/30

Next we ordered an App. Fried Brussel Sprouts. A lot of my friends said you have to try them, and damn they were awesome. I could have consumed a ton. Seriously, one of the best apps I’ve ever had. If you don’t like Brussel Sprouts now, you will after you have these.

Then, the menu. http://liquidsandsolids.com/solids.html

I ordered the Kale and Goat Cheese ravioli with Oxtail Ragout.

It was fabulous. There were three large raviolis with the ragout on top, and my oh my it was delicious. The flavors blend and meld and it was another dish I could have just kept eating forever. The portions are perfect, you can’t get stuffed, which allows for more eating!

Nancie ordered goat sausage on polenta with eggplant and apple. I tried the sausage, it was to die for.

For dessert Nancie had Creme brulee and coconut canoli. I sampled both and they were killer!

I brought home a maple marshmallow, chocolate and graham cracker tart  w/ maple syrup.

Suffice it to say it was consumed in one sitting. Outstanding!

We finished off the evening with  a Maple and Spice. Bourbon, Maple Syrup, Cayenne pepper lemon juice and apple juice, with a big slice of apple on top.  Uh, really, pepper and apple and maple syrup?

Yes, really. Keegan is a master of flavors and this just flat out works. What a way to finish the night.

Dinner for two w/ drinks, before tip was $87 which quite frankly, is a bargain for the quality of the liquids and solids we consumed.

If you’re a meat and tater kind of person, the menu may not appeal, although there is an awesome burger on the menu.  That said, if you’re sick of the same old, same old, you have to go here.

Was all the buzz about Liquids and Solids correct? Hell, yes.

I’ll be back.

2 comments
  1. Happy birthday, amigo – looks like you picked out a winner! Quite a unique menu – don’t know that I’ve ever seen pork liver on a menu before – Nice!

Leave a Reply

